Temporary Waiver of CE Requirements

UPDATE: 12/10/2020

The Board met on December 10, 2020 to address the temporary waiver of continuing education requirements, which expires March 19, 2021. After much discussion, the Board unanimously voted not to extend the waiver. Licensees with renewal dates past March 19, 2021 will have the normal continuing education requirements.


EFFECTIVE: 03/20/2020

Title 21 NCAC 18B .1109

Effective March 20, 2020, and in response to an ongoing National Health Emergency, all existing listed qualified individuals shall receive a one-time waiver of their continuing education requirements to be effectuated by each listed qualified individual receiving credit for their required number of annual hours for their classification as that number is set forth below in this rule.

On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The COVID-19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death. The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, spreads easily from person to person. Once an outbreak of the COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain. The World Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and the United States Department of Health and Human Services have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency and have encouraged social distancing to reduce infection rates.   

The State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors seeks to assist contractors who are unable to locate a sufficient number of hours of in person continuing education classes that are required by 21 NCAC 18B.110 by granting a one-time waiver of the annual requirement set forth in that rule under the authority of G.S. 87-44.1. By passing this emergency rule, the State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors seeks to contribute towards the social isolation efforts that have been directed by the Federal and State Government.